Local Organising Committee

Jian-Feng Nie

Professor – Monash University

Jian-Feng Nie is a professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Monash University. His research interests include atomic-scale characterization of light alloys using advanced electron microscopy imaging techniques, solute clustering and segregation at nanoscale, structure-property relationships in advanced metallic materials, and magnesium alloys. He has published more than 100 research papers, guest edited 2 viewpoint sets in Scripta Materialia, and edited 5 conference proceedings. His research received over 6,700 citations. He chaired several international conferences and symposia, including the 7th Pacific Rim International Conference on Advanced Materials and Processing (PRICM-7), held in Cairns in 2010, that attracted 1350 attendants.

He is editor of Metallurgical and Materials Transactions (2013-). He is chair of National Events Committee of Materials Australia, and former chair of Phase Transformations Committee of TMS/ASM International, USA (2003-2006). He is recipient of AIME Champion H. Mathewson Medal Award, TMS (2015), One-Thousand Talent Scholars, China (2010), The Inaugural Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Innovation and Collaboration in Research with Industry, Monash University (2008), Marcus A Grossmann Young Authors Award, ASM International, USA (2006), ICYS Visiting Research Fellow (Short Term), NIMS, Japan (2005, 2007), MMO Distinguished Lecturer, Materials and Manufacturing Ontario, Toronto, Canada (2003), CRC-CAST Commercialisation Award for AM-SC1 Magnesium Alloy (2003), and CRC-CAST Commercialisation Award for AM-lite Magnesium Alloy (2003).

Paul Plater

President – Materials Australia (Institute of Materials Engineering Australasia Limited).

Paul is an experienced Metallurgical Engineer and director of Plater International Consulting. Paul has held several directorate and technical roles within the materials engineering consulting industry over 25 years. Paul has served as President of Materials Australia since May 2017.

Tanya Smith

Executive Officer – Materials Australia (Institute of Materials Engineering Australasia Limited).

Tanya Smith is Materials Australia’s Executive Officer. She has been with Materials Australia since 2010 and during that period has been involved in the organizing of many international conferences including PRICM7, PacRIM9, the biennial CAMS (Combined Australian Materials Societies) conference, SHM2012, APICAM (Australia Pacific Conference on Additive Manufacturing) and MISE (Materials Innovations in Surface Engineering).

Dr Yunxia Yang

CSIRO Energy

Dr Allan Morton

Monash University

Dr Leon Prentice

CSIRO Manufacturing

Dr Julie Karel

Monash University

Nicole Appleby

National Manager, Professional Development – Engineers Australia

Cara Maltman

Senior Coordinator, Professional Development – Engineers Australia

Llewellyn Morris

Coordinator, Professional Development – Engineers Australia